Tori Kelly talks about her new gospel album “Hiding Place”

Tori Kelly’s “Psalm 42” is from her upcoming project, ‘Hiding Place,’ available 9/14.

The album is being described as a Gospel album. Not originally planned as one, Kelly admits, it kind of just evolved into one. Kirk Franklin, the iconic Christian artist, had written a few songs for Kelly.

“Next thing you know, one song turned into us doing a whole project together,” she continues. “I grew up on gospel music, so the fact that a legend like Kirk Franklin would take me under his wing was just a dream come true.” That sentiment is echoed by the man himself. “I’ve never seen anyone that’s a monster behind the microphone like Tori Kelly,” Kirk raves. “She’d nail one song in three takes, and all those takes were amazing. It set the bar higher for my whole career.” That’s high praise indeed.

As for the title, Tori drew inspiration from verse 7 of Psalm 32: “You are a hiding place for me; you preserve me from trouble; you surround me with songs of deliverance.” She is hoping to convey the same feeling through her music.

Here is the tracklist for the upcoming album:

1. Masterpiece (feat. Lecrae)

2. Help Us To Love (feat. The Hamiltones)

3. Sunday

4. Just As Sure (feat. Jonathan McReynolds)

5. Psalm 42

6. Questions

7. Never Alone (feat. Kirk Franklin)

8. Soul’s Anthem (It Is Well)